The Past, The Present, and The Future

At the start of my freshman year of college I was at the beach with my best friend Lily, we were sitting down relaxing (as most people do at the beach), I turned to her and said, “Do you see that?”, she looked at me confused and then I said, “That vast body of water out there is our future.” Although Lily was confused about this, I think now she understands exactly what I meant. The future, much like the ocean, is filled with an immense amount of growth, opportunity, and uncertainty. I think that a lot of us get so hung up on the uncertainty that the future holds that we forget about the other two. We forget that living life in one place, doing the same thing over and over, and playing it safe is not benefiting anyone, especially not ourselves.

It is very easy to get caught up in our everyday, sometimes crappy, 8-5 jobs. We go to work everyday and do the same thing, after awhile it becomes so routine that you could do it with your eyes shut. For those of us who don’t yet have those crappy, 8-5 work days, trust me it’s coming. For now you work a minimum wage job in between studying for school, attending classes, and making sure you get your extracurricular activities in. If you’re like me you might be in a sorority or a fraternity where you hold a position or you’re in a club on campus or on one the school sports teams. Needless to say life becomes so hectic that we forget that life is about growth and self reflection. It’s about making mistakes and learning from them.

This is exactly what this blog is, it’s my attempt at taking a step back from my overwhelmingly busy life to reflect on my past, present and future selves. To reflect on the growth and opportunities that have come before me and to celebrate what most fear, which is uncertainty. I hope to inspire those who are currently sitting on the bench at their own game, to take hold of the play book, that is their life, and start coming up with their own plays.

“Sometimes, you have to look back in order to understand the things that lie ahead.”

Yvonne Woon, Dead Beautiful

 

One thought on “The Past, The Present, and The Future

  1. I LOVE THIS BLOG ALREADY. There is so much potential to inspire so many different people! I love how you shared the importance of the past, present, and future in our lives. Looking forward to read more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

